davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)

"Alexis Landau’s cinematically descriptive, character-driven debut novel explores ethnic identity via an intermarried family in WWI and Weimar era Germany, i.e. before anti-Semitism became official state policy legally codifying ethnic definitions." -- from my New York Journal of Books review in which I praise the book as “handsomely written” as well as a “powerful and compelling novel.” My additional remarks and excerpts from the book appear in examiner.com.
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)


“...recommended to readers who enjoy interior prose and psychological literary fiction.” -- from my review of Five Selves by Emanuela Barasch Rubinstein in New York Journal of Books. My additional remarks and excerpts from the book appear in examiner.com.
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Read more... )

"There are books that make us feel intensely and others that make us think deeply; one that does both is Gail Hareven’s opalescent and psychologically complex eleventh novel Lies, First Person (in the original Hebrew Hashkarim Ha’aharonim Shel Hagoof which literally translates as The Body’s Last Lies), which is only the second (The Confessions of Noa Weber) of her 13 books for adults to be published in English in Dalya Bilu’s fine translation." - From my New York Journal of Books review

"Lies, First Person, Gail Hareven’s second novel to be translated into English (the eleventh of her thirteen adult books published in Hebrew), which is published today by Open Letter Books, is both an emotionally compelling narrative and a novel of ideas. Its characters find different ways of coping with the emotional aftermath of an unreported and unpunished crime, and the novel invites its readers to consider such questions as the nature of evil and the justification of vengeance and retribution." - From my examiner.com article
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Read more... )

The Hilltop is recommended to all readers who enjoy a good story grounded in current events.” -- from my New York Journal of Books review. Also see my examiner article.




Read more... )
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Read more... )

The Betrayers succeeds by combining thought provoking ethical dilemmas with dramatic tension in an engaging prose style and is enthusiastically recommended.” - from my New York Journal of Books review (which includes spoilers). For additional remarks, excerpts, and an exploration of the novel as a roman a clef see my examiner article.

Read more... )
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Read more... )

“. . . the pleasure this novel provides is found less in what happens to the characters than in the language Lerner commands to relate that and his various cogitations, as well as in time spent in the company of a first rate mind.” -- from my New York Journal of Books review. For additional remarks and excerpts from the novel also see my examiner article.

Read more... )
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Read more... )

"Stephanie Feldman’s debut novel The Angel of Losses, which was published last week by New York-based HarperCollins imprint Ecco Press, is a welcome addition to the Jewish fantasy fiction genre." --examiner.com

In my New York Journal of Books review of the novel I write, “The Angel of Losses is recommended to nerdy (in the best sense of the word) secular Jewish and philo-Semitic readers whose genre interests include the confluence of contemporary and fantasy fiction.”

Read more... )
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Read more... )

My two part review begins with the poet's bio and backstory in New York Journal of Books and continues with a discussion of his poems in examiner:

"Anglophone readers (especially those who also read Hebrew) will find both this handsome book’s bilingual presentation of Ruebner’s selected poems, and his heart wrenching backstory described by translator Rachel Tzvia Back in her informative introduction and endnotes, compelling reading."


Read more... )

davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)

 

 

Read more... )

Slava Gelman, the protagonist of Boris Fishman's debut novel A Replacement Life, fabricates Holocaust narratives for elderly Russian immigrants' reparations claims applications. In my NYJB review I write, "Slava knows that to make his stories convincing he has to get the details right, and despite the leaps of faith Fishman demands he provides more than enough correct details and well crafted figurative turns of phrase to convince most readers to go along with him—and those who do will be amply rewarded by this multidimensional and handsomely written debut novel." For additional remarks about A Replacement Life see my examiner article.

Read more... )
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)

Read more... )

“Though not Appelfeld’s best work, Suddenly, Love despite its deceptive simplicity offers much food for thought and would be a good choice for book groups.”  —From my NYJB review. For a shorter synopsis of the novel see my examiner article.

Read more... )

davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)

Read more... )

 "David Grand’s third novel, Mount Terminus, is written in luscious, erudite prose so dense his readers have no choice but to read it slowly." 

-- from my review of Mount Terminus by David Grand on New York Journal of Books. Also see my examiner article.

Read more... )

davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Read more... )

In my New York Journal of Books review I describe Ellen Litman's second novel Mannequin Girl as “a welcome addition to the coming of age genre that will appeal both to adult readers and to precocious teenagers.” Also see my examiner article about this novel set in 1980s Moscow.

Read more... )
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Image

In my New York Journal of Books review I describe E.L. Doctorow's new novel as “an enjoyable page turner” that is “both bittersweet and disturbing.” Also see my examiner article where you'll also find a video of Doctorow discussing Melville's Moby Dick with Margaret Atwood.
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)

In my NYJB review of Leaving the Sea by Ben Marcus I recommend the book “to serious readers who will want to reread its stories gaining new insights with each reading.” Also see my examiner.com article: Books: novelist Ben Marcus returns to the short story in Leaving the Sea.


davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Read more... )

In my New York Journal of Books review I describe The Gorgeous Nothings as “. . . one gorgeous book . . . like attending a museum exhibition in the comfort of one’s own home.” For a comparison between Ms. Dickinson's draft of a poem and the posthumously published version see my examiner article.

Read more... )
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Read more... )

Set in 1930s and 1940s Johannesburg, South Africa, Jewish-Canadian writer Kenneth Bonert's debut novel The Lion Seeker is a bildungsroman, immigration story, and family saga rolled into a page turner. In my New York Journal of Books review I refer to the book as a promising debut. To hear an interview with Mr. Bonert go to my examiner article.

Read more... )
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Read more... )

Here is my New York Journal of Books review of Lore Segal's new novel about old age Half the Kingdom. For additional commentary and excerpts from the novel see my examiner article too.

Read more... )
Lore Segal
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Subtle Bodies book cover
Subtle Bodies by Norman Rush portrays a happy marriage. Read my review on New York Journal of Books. See my additional remarks on examiner.com.
Subtle Bodies author Norman RushNorman Rush
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Who Will Die Last book cover


"David Ehrlich’s short stories, some of which describe the lives of both openly identified and closeted Israeli gay men, are sometimes funny, sometimes sad, and sometimes both."



Read my review on New York Journal of Books and my additional remarks on examiner.


David Ehrlich
Who Will Die Last author David Ehrlich
davidfcooper: (headshot 01/18/07)
Claudia Silver to the Rescue book cover

In my New York Journal of Books review I describe the novel as "a fun and funny read about the mistakes twentysomethings make when they first live independently as adults." In addition to my NYJB review also read my Examiner article about this novel.


Claudia Silver to the Rescue author Kathy Ebel
Claudia Silver to the Rescue author Kathy Ebel

Profile

davidfcooper: (Default)
davidfcooper

July 2017

S M T W T F S
      1
2345678
910 1112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031     

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Jul. 26th, 2017 08:40 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios